Wayward Pines and a TOTALLY AVERAGE SNACK

I asked my sister what she would like to see on the next post.  She said Wayward Pines.  Ok.  I really like Wayward Pines and I’m totally willing to do it but… what would I do?  It’s not really an eating show.  There’s scenes in a bar, but it’s not really a drinking show either.  Then I thought that Wayward Pines is a town with a crazy secret, but is masquerading as a TOTALLY AVERAGE AMERICAN TOWN WITH NO SECRETS, SWEAR.  So I decided to do something totally average and American, apple pie.  Apple pie, but snack size because you are watching tv.

wayward-pines-review-header

I love the opening sequence the best.

I grabbed this recipe from The Blond Cook.  After preheating the oven to 375, you mix a 1/4 cup of brown sugar and a teaspoon of apple pie spice.  Sounds easy, huh?  Well, nothing is easy with me.  I thought I had apple pie spice, wrong.  So, I had to make my own.  I cleaned out a spice container and mixed some cinnamon, nutmeg, and… allspice?  Nope.  I didn’t have any allspice either.  So I threw in some cloves and wondered why life is so hard.

20160521_134527

I labeled the jar as passive aggressively as possible

The recipe calls for a small Granny Smith apple, but I had red apples so I used those.  They were much smaller than your average Granny Smith, but still made huge slices when cut into 8 pieces.  Way bigger than the pictures on The Blond Cook.

20160521_134909

Not so much apple slices as apple chunks

But I warmed up some 3 tbs dairy-free margarine and soaked them in it.  Yep, the recipe calls for apple slices to be soaked in butter.  Then I laid out the crescent rolls on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper (I have that now!)  and spread the sugar and the freaking apple pie spice over them.  Then you sprinkle some pecans over that.

 

20160521_140642

This is my biggest cookie sheet

So you fish the apple slices out of the butter and put a slice on each big end of the crescent slice and roll them up.  This was pretty messy and (no surprise) did not come out as neat as in the picture.  Whatever, though.  I never expected it to look neat.  Spread the leftover butter (and likely apple juice) over the rolls and sprinkle some more of that God-forsaken apple pie spice on top.

20160521_141514

I was shaky, so some of these have a ton of apple pie spice dumped on them.

I ended up cooking them for 11 minutes and they were perfect.  Let them cool for a bit and they’re good to go.  I thought leaving the skin on the apples was a lazy move I would regret, but it was fine.  I would make these again.  I would make them every week.  They were that good and easy.  I think the pecans really made it.

20160521_143804

Shaky cam shot.

I call this a success.  And I’m really excited to see where they go with Wayward Pines this season.  What about you?  Any ideas for a future post?  Let me know, I may want to do it!

 

Leave a Reply

