Food Like the Sea, Not Seafood

Finding Nemo is seriously one of my favorite movies and I’ve been losing my mind in anticipation of Finding Dory since I saw the first trailer. So while Finding Dory is still in theaters, I’ll re-watch Finding Nemo until the disk is completely ruined. And I’ll have an under-the-sea themed dinner.

nemo_2279857b

The first thing I did not want to do was seafood or anything reminiscent of seafood because watching Finding Nemo and eating faux fish is really creepy to me. The movie even spells it out, “Fish are friends, not food.” So I tried to made something that brings the sea to mind, without suggesting you actually eat marine animals.

finding-nemo

So with that I decided on stuffed shells and asparagus (yeah, at the time I was still trying to use up my asparagus) and a blue cocktail.

For the shells I used a recipe from The Vegan Stoner, which is my new favorite website. Really, it’s so cute and easy. So just start by boiling some jumbo shells. Rinse and set them aside while you make the vegetables.

20160617_185825

This is nothing like the multi-tasking I did with all the asparagus

I dripped some oil in the skillet and added a chopped onion and cooked it until it was soft-ish. Then I threw in my chopped kale. I went easy on the kale because, to be honest, I’m not a big fan of it.  Seriously, what’s with kale?  I mean, it’s ok cooked like this, but otherwise it’s one of those health foods I only tolerate.

Then I crumbled in a block of tofu and it got interesting as I tried to season it. I would dump something in, taste it, and then dump something else in. I ended up putting in a ton of nutritional yeast, a ton of Italian seasoning, a good amount of salt and pepper, and a hit of garlic powder. I’m sure you can season this better than me, but that’s what I landed on.

20160617_191100

Just keep seasoning, just keep seasoning

Then I just filled the shells. No need to bake them because there’s no cheese on top, and I passed on pasta sauce because I thought the splash of red took away from the ocean look. Instead, I chopped up some grape tomatoes on top. I also think the steamed asparagus on the side looks kinda like seaweed so that works too.  Way to use up leftovers!

20160617_192640

If nothing else, it looks pretty good.

What did not work was the drink I tried to make. I used blue Curacao, coconut rum, and lemon-lime soda. It was way too sweet and pretty undrinkable. Maybe next time seltzer instead of the soda. Actually, that sounds pretty good. Do that.

IMG_20160617_200636

The Big Blue.  What’s it like?  Gross.

In summary: get creative with the shells, have a completely different drink. Let me know if you have any ideas for a new post, and if you try any of these! watch Finding Nemo and enjoy Finding Dory!

Leave a Reply

