Summerween!

I took the 4th of July off, but I certainly celebrated the (arguably more) important holiday, Summerween. If you do not know, Summerween is from the brilliant and recently deceased show Gravity Falls and it’s celebrated on June 22nd. That’s my sister’s birthday, so I make it the weekend after. Summerween is Halloween, in summer. Kinda like Christmas in July, but with Jack-o-melons and horror movies.

jpeg

So getting a good watermelon is the first step to a great Summerween. Scoop it out like a pumpkin and carve it. Put a candle in it. Bask in the glow of that beauty.

20160625_172342

Mine’s a buck-toothed gang member!

Now you have a huge bowl of watermelon to enjoy. Every year I struggle with what to do with all that watermelon. This year I went with watermelon salsa from Gimme Some Oven. It was a perfect cool snack for a hot day while binge watching Gravity Falls and horror movies. Let’s see if I can remember how to make it.

I cut the watermelon into smaller pieces so it didn’t look so much like lox, and then mixed it with a fresh jalapeno, cilantro, a ton of the mint that’s growing wild all over my backyard, a red onion, and some lime juice.  Just mix up those ingredients.  I ended up overdoing it on the mint, but who doesn’t like mint?  Salsa is so easy.

20160625_175749

Mix it up, call it a day

So now that you have a snack for watching every horror movie you own, go do it.  Be sure to tell me all about it and as always, hit me with ideas if you have them.  Have a very happy belated Summerween!

 

 

Leave a Reply

